The dialogue was held to strengthen the already close strategic cooperation between the two countries.

(Communicated by the Israel Embassy in Washington D.C.)

On June 7, 2007, the United States and Israel conducted a strategic dialogue led by Under Secretary for Political Affairs Nicholas Burns and Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Transportation Shaul Mofaz to strengthen the already close strategic cooperation between our two countries. These talks reflect the deep historical and security ties between the United States and Israel, based on our shared values and common interests.

The United States and Israel attach the highest importance to these meetings. The meeting provided a welcome opportunity to discuss a broad range of issues that characterize our close relationship.

The two sides discussed their hopes for improved regional security and a resolution to the challenges posed by Iran and the threat of radical extremism. The U.S. and Israeli teams reviewed the status of UNSC Resolutions 1737 and 1747, and next steps in the international community’s common efforts to deny Iran nuclear weapons. The sides also discussed the President’s freedom agenda and the situation in other parts of the Middle East, including Iraq and Syria. The two sides discussed the situation in Lebanon and agreed on the need for the full and complete implementation of UNSC Resolution 1701.

In addition to Deputy Prime Minister Mofaz and Under Secretary Burns, other participants included, from the Israeli side: Ambassador to the U.S. Sallai Meridor, the Director General of Israel’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs Aharon Abramovich, Director General of Israel’s Ministry of Defense Pinchas Buchris, Director General of Israel’s Atomic Energy Commission Gideon Frank, Deputy Head of Israel’s National Security Council on Foreign Policy Eran Etzion and other senior officials. The U.S. side was represented by: National Security Advisor to the Vice President John Hannah, Ambassador Richard Jones, NSC Director Elliott Abrams, Department of State Assistant Secretary Welch, Treasury Assistant Secretary Patrick O’Brien and other senior officials.