The Ministry of Foreign Affairs in cooperation with the Jerusalem Municipality hosts IMUN – Israel Model United Nations, a two day U.N. model conference, starting on Sunday, January 7.

 Foreign Ministry to host first Israel Model United Nations


Opening session of Israel Model UN at the Foreign Ministry

Model United Nations is an international project, held in dozens of countries around the world, in which 11th and 12th grade students represent various member states of the U.N. and simulate the General Assembly and committee debates. Through participation in the project, students learn about the work of the United Nations, as well as international conflicts and global problems faced by the member states.

In preparation for the simulated General Assembly, the students also learn about the work of the diplomat: rules of behavior and debate, public speaking, drafting resolutions, and even code of dress.

The opening ceremony, which will be held at the Moshe Sharett Auditorium of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, will be attended by the representative of the U.N. Secretary General to the Middle East, the head of the Jerusalem Education Administration and principals of the seven high schools taking part in the project.

Immediately after the opening ceremony, the young ambassadors will simulate the general debate of the United Nations General Assembly. They will present the doctrine of each of the 18 U.N. member states that they represent. Later, the delegates will break up into several United Nations committees, among them the Security Council, the Economic and Social Council, the Committee for Human Rights, the Environment Committee and the Committee for Disarmament and International Security.

On Monday morning the delegates will conclude their debates and draft resolutions within the framework of the various committees. The General Assembly will convene once again in the afternoon for the distribution of certificates of participation and certificates of excellence to the delegates.

The countries chosen to participate in the model are Israel, Syria, North Korea, Ghana, Japan, the United States of America, Italy, India, the United Kingdom, Egypt, Panama, South Africa, Russia, China, Venezuela, France, Iran and Sudan.