Foreign Ministers Livni Lainez signed a memorandum of political consultation between the Foreign Ministries of Israel and El Salvador

 Summary of visit of El Salvador FM to Israel 



(Communicated by the Foreign Ministry Spokesman)

El-Salvadorian Foreign Minister Mr. Francisco Lainez left Israel on May 17, after completing his scheduled visit to the country.

FM Lainez visited Israel as the guest of Vice Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs Tzipi Livni. At their meeting, the two ministers discussed bilateral relations of the two countries, the situation in the Middle East and the situation in Central America.

FM Lainez noted his country’s staunch support of Israel and promised continued support regarding peace initiatives in the region. He also told FM Livni of the report of the El Salvadorian commission investigating the rescue of Hungarian Jews during World War II by the El Salvador consul, which was presented to the Chairman of Yad Vashem. At the end of the meeting, the two ministers signed a memorandum of political consultation between the Foreign Ministries of Israel and El Salvador, and an agreement that will allow the employment of spouses of members of the diplomatic corps.

Foreign Minister Lainez met with Prime Minister Olmert, visited the Knesset and met with Knesset Speaker and Acting President, MK Dalia Itzik, with Chairman of the Israel-El Salvador parliamentary friendship association, MK. Ran Cohen and with other Knesset members.

FM Lainez also visited the Yad Vashem Holocaust Memorial, where the aforementioned report was presented and an official request made to award the consul Righteous Gentile status, Yad Sarah, the Israel Museum and holy sites.

The Minister held a reception for senior members of the economic and financial sectors, with the aim of introducing the El Salvadorian economy to potential Israeli investors.

FM Lainez left Israel for Jordan, where he will participate in the meeting of the World Economic Forum and the G-11 summit, together with El Salvadorian President Elías Antonio Saca González