Five Facts about the IDF Chief of Staff

With the IDF (Zahal)’s new commander taking his position, IDF (Zahal) Website has written five facts about Chiefs of Staff past and present

Date: 16/02/2011, 1:48 PM     Author: IDF (Zahal) Website

The first IDF (Zahal) Chief of Staff was Lt. Gen. Yaakov Dori, who was appointed to his role on June 16th, 1947, while serving in the Haganah militia (which laid the foundations for the IDF (Zahal)). He continued serving as Chief of Staff when the IDF (Zahal) was formed.

The Chief of Staff with the shortest term in office was Lt. Gen. Mordechai Maklef, who lead the army for just a year between 1952 and 1953.

The Chief of Staff with the longest term in office was Lt. Gen. Raphael Eitan. He held the position for a period of five years after Prime Minister Menachem Begin extended his term by a year.

Lt. Gen. Benny Gantz became the 20th Chief of Staff of the IDF (Zahal) this week.

Only 3 years after the end of his term can a former Chief of Staff be elected to the Knesset (Israeli Parliament) or be appointed a Minister.