The Finance Committee unanimously approved an order to encourage investments in agriculture that defines areas of national priority which are entitled to tax benefits and grants. The order defined development areas A and B. Priority was set based on agricultural production, settlement density and ecological efficiency.

Among the areas defined as agricultural development areas are: parts of the upper Galilee, the valleys of the lower Galilee, parts of the Judean Foothills, areas adjacent to the security fence, and areas south of the Ashqelon-Qiryat Gat road.

MK Zvulun Kalfa (HaBayit HaYehudi), Chair of the Sub-Committee on the Periphery and Settlement, wondered: “How is it that Judaea, Samaria and the Jordan Valley, which grow many agricultural products, will not be receiving benefits? If the farmers of Judaea and Samaria, who pay the same taxes as all Israeli citizens, will not receive tax benefits, it may be worth their while to stop paying taxes.”

Representatives from the Tax Authority responded that, “Farmers in Judaea and Samaria will be able to receive tax benefits if there is an order from a Major General. These areas are under military administration.”

Finance Committee Chair, MK Nissan Slomiansky (HaBayit HaYehudi) said that, “This issue will be transferred to the Ministry of Justice in order to find an appropriate legal solution that will aid the State to alleviate the burden on farmers in these areas.”