The Knesset Ethics Committee on Wednesday decided to bar MK Oren Asaf Hazan (Likud) from participating in plenary debates and committee meetings for a period of one month, this following a series of complaints that had been filed against him by other parliamentarians. Hazan will still be permitted to vote.

MK Karin Elharrar (Yesh Atid), who is wheelchair-bound, complained to the Ethics Committee that during the recent voting on the state budget, which lasted through the night, Hazan falsely accused her of ”double voting” after she had asked MK Esawi Frej to help her cast her vote because her disability makes it difficult for her to use the Knesset’s electronic voting system.

During the vote on inducting Haredim into the IDF, Hazan called out to Elharar: “Do you need Esawi to help you?”

”Hazan`s actions send a particularly hurtful message to people with disabilities, who see how even in Knesset Yisrael there is no basic human consideration for the condition of people with disabilities,” Elharrar said in her complaint.

MK Frej asked the committee to punish Hazan in a ”clear and deterring” manner for mocking Elharrar. MKs Ilan Gilon (Meretz), Ofer Shelah (Yesh Atid) and Micky Rosenthal (Zionist Camp) filed a joint complaint against Hazan, saying the comments he directed towards Elharrar were ”hurtful and demeaning to her honor and to the honor of the Knesset.” MKs Nachman Shai (Zionist Camp) and Roy Folkman (Kulanu) submitted similar complaints.

MK Hanin Zoabi (Joint List) complained to the committee that Hazan has behaved on several occasions in a ”rude, degrading and hurtful” manner towards her. Aida Touma-Sliman (Joint List) said Hazan had repeatedly interrupted her during a recent meeting of the Finance Committee and used ”hurtful” words.

In response to the complaints, Hazan denied that he had insulted Elharrar and said that she called him ”zero” and ”garbage.”

In its decision to suspend Hazan, the Ethics Committee said his conduct ”severely insulted the honor of the Knesset, its public image and the honor of its members.”